We're Hiring! Full Stack Developer ×

Is this possible? Virtualisation with independent IP's

Lookeh

Hi Everyone,

couple of questions for you guys just to see if what I'm planning is possible, I'm totally new to the concept of virtualisation in unRAID so any help is appreciated (and please bear with me if my concept is totally wrong).

Background;

In my work place, we currently run 2 servers, one which is domain, AD, exchange(now defunct), billing and storage. The second is much older and is run for Billing.

I have build and implemented a nas to take some load off the domain server, and we no longer use exchange, but the software that was installed originally on it (Win SBS 2011) bloats it.

The older server we had recently suffered a drive failure, 2 drives in a Raid 5 SAS (eek..) but fortunately the data was backed up, my point being, this server is showing it's age.

Currently there are 2 machines each running a copy of the billing software, this is because they are for different areas (UK on on Rep Ireland on the other), the billing software requires SQL server per version which is why they are split over 2 machines.

Plan:

What I'd like to do it use the virtualisation of unRAID to run 2 win VM's and run the UK billing on one and the ROI billing on the other. Now I'm pretty sure this much is possible.

What I'd like is for each VM to have it's own IP (2 independent NICs?!) for both remote access and for the online billing portion of the software (external access). If I can't have that I'd settle for someway to access each VM remotely but also for 1 of the VM's to be accessed externally.

So... my questions;

Is it possible to differentiate the 2 VM's over the network and are either of the 2 IP/Network scenarios above possible.

Is the initial part of my plan as achievable as I think it is.

Could I add each VM to the domain (I'm assuming yes as I can with VM's through other VM software)