Possible to spin down unassigned drives?

Marv

Hi,

is it possible to spin down unassigned drives somehow?

Because I'm keeping one precleared drive in my tower in case a drive of my array would fail.

Unfortunately that drive is alwas spinning.

However, I'm using this command with the S3 sleep plugin after wake up to spin up all drives.

/usr/bin/wget  -q  -O  -  localhost/update.htm?cmdSpinupAll=Spin%20Up >/dev/null

As I'm a Linux noob I don't know if this only spins up the drives of the array or unassigned devices aswell.

If this is the case, how can I adjust the command above so that it only refers to the array?

Or is it normal that unassigned drives are always spinning?

Hope someone can help me out here.

I believe UAD Plugin keeps mounted drives spinning and the best way to stop it spinning is to unmount it. If the drive is truly what you say it's for then I can't see a need to keep it mounted.

As you are no doubt aware, unRAID does not manage disks outside of the array in any way - including  spin up/ down.

I might not be 100% in the unmount advice to spin down the disk but you could try it. If not the best place to put this is probably in the Unassigned Devices Plugin thread here:

https://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=45807.30

Maybe a Mod will move it for you!  :)

EDIT: It has just dawned on me that perhaps your use of the term Unassigned Device is not a reference to your use of the above Plugin. In which case, sorry. Waste of time post. I wouldn't expect unRAID to keep a drive not assigned to the Array spinning though given my disk management point above.

yeah I'm sorry, it didn't want to refer to the UAD Plugin. Maybe I expressed myself a bit too complicated.

I just did not assign the precleared drive to the array. I just want to be able to replace a drive of the array in case of a failure.

So how do I tell unraid to not spin up the unassigned drive when i wake up my server?