Motherboard Recommendation

ekim

I've been through tons of threads on here and I can't seem to find a consensus or a recommendation.

I have been using UnRaid for a few years now and I am looking to upgrade my current server. At the moment my install of UnRaid just runs a few dockets (Couchpotato, Sonaar, NZBget etc.) and streams media to a LibreElec box hooked up to my TV.

I am looking to upgrade my server to hold a lot more drives and also potentially to be able to VM a gaming PC at the same time. I have just bought a Lian Li D8000 case and am getting it setup so I can simply slot in a new hard drive when I need add a new drive and don't have to fiddle around plugging cables in etc. To that end I am planning on buying three Dell Perc H310 cards and have everything wired up and ready to go. To that end I need a board that can support three of the cards and have room to add a graphics card in too.

I am not committed to getting any specific CPU, but prefer Intel. Would like to get a 6 core minimum CPU. My current set up is:

MOBO: ASRock B75 Pro3-M (8 Drives connected)

CPU: Intel Celeron G1610

RAM: Crucial 4GB DDR3 Kit

PSU: Seasonic X-Series 650w

CASE: Fractal R3

STORAGE:

Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8 (3 Drives connected)

10 * WD Red 3tb (1 * Parity, 8 * Data, 1 * Spare)

1 * WD Black 500gb (Cache)

Moving to:

CPU: ??? (Intel 6 cores minimum)

RAM: 32GB minimum (potentially ECC if I can stretch the budget)

PSU: Keep what I have for now

CASE: Lian Li D8000

STORAGE:

Dell Perc H310 * 3

20 * WD Red (2 * Parity, 17 * Data, 1 * Spare) (This will take a while to get to).

1 * WD Black 500gb (cache)

1 * SSD for Gaming VM.

Hmm, I don't know this space all that well, but I think your requirements can only be met by a few motherboards, typically from Supermicro or ASRock Rack.  The PCIex requirements for x16/x8/x8/x8 plus 6+ cores make me look at LGA2011 motherboards like:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157557