How long will it take me to build an unRAID server?

riccume

Reason for the broad question is that I'm planning to add a storage server to my HTPC and, while I'm tempted by the cool and flexible unRAID technology and the fun of building it, I could simply buy an Aspire easyStore H340 with 2TB of storage and 4 hot-swappable bays for £350, and be up and running in less than one hour. I would be great to have your thoughts before I dig further in the details.

I'm looking for a minitower case, 4-5 3.5" bays (I'll start with 2-4TB of total storage). I don't think I need hot-swappable. I'll use this server mostly to save my DVD collection.

Thanks!

A general question requires a general answer - I will take you about as long as it takes you to build a normal desktop computer.

This depends greatly on your experience with building computers.  I have lots of experience with it (hence, I've had lots of practice), and I can easily go from parts to a working unRAID server in less than an hour (assuming I don't run into any problems).  However, my first build probably took me 2 or more hours and quite a bit of hand-holding from a friend.  So, it really all depends on your skill level, I can't answer that for you.

The unRAID OS takes far less time to set up and install than does, say, Windows or MacOS.  However, it is more complex than either of those since it involves use of the scary command line!

If you really are worried about building the server yourself, you can buy a pre-built server from LimeTech (though I believe they have been out of stock on certain models for some time now).  However, don't be afraid to jump into building your own server.  It is easier than you think (even if you have never built a desktop before), and this forum is here to help you through it.  Plus you'll learn a thing or two and be better equipped to maintain and repair your server (and other computers) should you ever need to.