help a complete noob

JoNBoYuK

First, go to your GUI   and   Settings   >>>>   SMB    then select "Workgroup Settings".  Now change the 'Local master browser:' to 'Yes'  and click on the "Apply" button.    Now click on the "SMB Extras" tab and paste the following in the the Box:

[global]
domain master = yes
preferred master = yes 
os level = 255

Again click on the 'Apply' button.  Now reboot your server.   After it up-and running, reboot your Windows computer

If your server is now not visible read through the Thread that @trurl post up.  (It is a good think to read in any case since you are a new user.)  IF you are still having issues.  Post back here and give more information about your Windows computer. 

41 minutes ago, JoNBoYuK said:

right i have just setup a new server but windows wont detect it in network folder but i can access it with //servername or the ip and get the unraid settings etc but cant access via windows what am i doing wrong?

If the suggestions offered so far do not resolve the issue; make sure SMB v1.0 is enabled on your Windows machine.  Even if it is enabled, try toggling it off and on again.  That has resolved the unRAID (and other computers) not found in Windows Network folder for me on a couple of occasions.  Windows updates sometime disable SMB v1.0 for, they say, security reasons; but, unRAID and other devices seem to work better with SMB 1.0 than with SMB 2.0 or 3.0

thanks guys it worked love ya just go my server all setup, just need to find the best way to transfer 24tb of stuff to new server 10tb parity setup ready i assume as shares are green as it copies it parity at the same time? hence why it copies at around 65/75 rather than 115+ at max 1gbps speed is this the best way?