Advice needed on hardware

Hi,

I'm new to Unraid. I'm hoping to get an advice on what hardware to select on my build.

I'm looking to run 3 VM running Windows 10, a little gaming on 3 VM's, I'm not doing any plex/transcoding. I will add probably 10tb of storage. A motherboard which have an IGPU so I dont have to setup another GPU for the Unraid display, I know it can be headless, but I prefer having a dedicated display for the Unraid.

I've read a few thread about xeon and ryzen. At first I'm leaning on ryzen but the issue about it makes me think twice.

Hopefully someone could give me some advice on choosing the right cpu and motherboard for my needs.

Thanks

55 minutes ago, gleech said:

I've read a few thread about xeon and ryzen. At first I'm leaning on ryzen but the issue about it makes me think twice.

Xeon is the more tested and stable route for sure, as for a mobo with the IOMMU groups you'll want to run that I don't know. I would recommend lurking around in the forums trying to filter-feed all the motherboard info you can while waiting for others to chime in on your post.  You mentioned Ryzen, I've been having good luck with my Threadripper setup, so far, I don't have a third graphics card to test for VM3, but given my IOMMU groups my particular board, I'd bet $5 on "it works." My system details are in the link of my sig, if you're curious about my hardware/setup. I'd recommend some sort of SSD(s) for your VM's as running it directly off the storage array gives you a sizable performance hit. 

I hope that helps. If you have any particular questions about my setup (which sums up my hardware exp with unRAID), for your research, feel free to ask me. 

47 minutes ago, Jcloud said: