Success! Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H (corrected model)

Hi all,

I'm new to unRAID, but I've been flirting with the idea for about two years now. I last looked at it over a year ago, and in my linux noobishness, I was a bit intimidated by the, well, linuxiness of it all. Things seem to have really progressed here in that time.

I completed building my unRAID server a couple of days ago, and couldn't have asked for a smoother experience. I started with unRAID basic, and had my array built with three drives very easily. The web interface is easy and informative. I copied data onto the array and everything went really well; well enough that I've bought a two pack of pro licenses, and I'm in the process of preclearing two more drives to fill out my array. I'm going to hold off on any additional drives due to budget constraints. Parity is a new Seagate 2TB bought for the purpose. It's been quiet, cool, and reasonably quick for a "green" drive. The four data drives are a hodgepodge of 1.5TB drives; two Seagates and two WD Greens.

The server is built in the seemingly ubiquitous CM 590, with an Athlon 5600. I haven't sprung for the snazzy hot swap cages yet, again due primarily to budget. I'm using Coolermaster's 4 in 3 cages, and they're fine, but I do wish I could get drives in and out quicker. I definitely prefer the standalone cage to the one that came with the case. It's a pain in the ass to get screws into that one.

I'm hoping to add a Supermicro 8 drive card to my mobo's PCIE slot. Can anyone tell me if that x16 slot can take a non video card?

Also, I've seen a couple of things about the Seagate drive needing a firmware update. I haven't checked the firmware version, and the impression I get is that Seagate is only rolling this out to select, affected serial numbers. Can anyone clarify the situation for me?

If you've not rebooted, the results may still be in the syslog.  (or in /var/log/syslog.1)