Radeon VII passtrough problem Unraid 6.7.2

System specs here:
X399 Zenith Extreme Alpha with 2950X

64GB Ram

2x Radeon VII

950 Pro 512GB as cache

2x 1TB 860 Evos as array (parity+disk1)

There are two issues I have encountered:
1) primary GPU, when passed trough for VM, has black screen. If I launch system with VNC, it boots and goes to Win10 install. With RVII system goes black. With Seabios I get few lines fo text and then black screen.

2) other VM with second RVII goes well and Win10 install has no issues. When I try to install AMD driver package, everything crashes.

Any ideas? I am new to linux environment and Unraid so please be kind : ) What ever I could provide to help, let me know. Thanks

Have you searched the forum for "AMD GPU passthrough issues" or "AMD GPU reset bug" or "AMD driver issues"? If not, please do so but let me tell you right now, you might not be happy with the result. AMD cards especially the Vega and the Radeon VII have an issue if you pass them to a VM. It might work, but as soon as you restart the VM or power it down and later back up without restarting the server they are "stuck" in a lower power stage. This rest issue is around for a while. I have read yesterday there might be an kernel patch people working on, but nothing thats implemented in Unraid yet.

For your driver issue you might find a answer somewhere in the forum. At some point end of last year it started with a newer driver. From this point people started complaining about an install issue with newer drivers (black screen). Some dudes figured it out, how to configure the VM to avoiding this issue. Q35 machine type, seabios or OVMF mode some sort of combination fixed it for some people.

• Like 1
19 hours ago, bastl said: