ICE ECC (par2-like tool)

greybeard

Can you send me a link to the tools/info on your setup.

This is what I have been using for the past eight months. It runs under Windows. I have written VB scripts to genereate commands and tested various recovery scenarios. Like most software it has some idiosyncrasies but does what I was looking for. If anyone wants to discuss it further we can open a thread over in the lounge.

http://www.ice-graphics.com/ICEECC/IndexE.html

PS: If you happen to take a look at the link don't get distracted by the references to "CD-R/DVD-R". It works just fine on hard drives starting at directory x and includes all files, sub folders and files in the sub folders where x is the starting point. UNC names work too.

greybeard - have you experimented with trying to run it on the unRAID server?

No. I don't run anything on the unRAID server except unRAID, unMenu and the preclear script.

Creating ECC files is very CPU demanding. Running on a Phenom II x4 940 processor (3Ghz) it takes 15 minutes to create the ECC file for a directory that contains 8GB of files. Overall CPU utilization is about 50%. The processor in my unRAID server is no where near that powerful. On the other hand running a verify is much faster. The same 8GB of data can be verified in about 1 minute with low CPU utilization. Recovery of a missing file or corrupted data kicks the CPU back into high gear. Not sure what the memory demands are.

Because verification is done for everything under the directory that you use as a base, you can not split directory contents without making the ECC file useless. So I create one ECC file for each low level directory that holds material that I want to keep together. Sometimes that means only one 50G file per directory. That way I can move directories arround without having to rebuild ECC files. This also hints at why I wrote scripts to manage the creation of ECC files and verification of stored data.