AMD chip 100% while transcoding

Hi

I'm a relative newbie with unraid and servers/computer but i've had an unraid server running for 6-12 months.

My issue is i've noticed that while transcoding tv/movies through plex my cpu is running at 100%  and has on a couple of occasions recently caused the server to shut down.

i'm using an AMD A10-9700  radeon r7 cpu on a gigabyte motherboard. Is it a simple case of i'm running a budget cpu and if i want to get away from this problem i need to upgrade or continue to live with the issue or im doing something dimwitted(wouldn't surprise me) and i can sort it out another way

Thanks in advance for any help

Tony

17 minutes ago, Tbmw said:

My issue is i've noticed that while transcoding tv/movies through plex my cpu is running at 100%  and has on a couple of occasions recently caused the server to shut down.

Running at 100% is normal and you want it to be able to do that. Causing your server to shut down is NOT normal, and you need to figure out why. Can you monitor your CPU temps and see if they are out of control? It could be as simple as blowing the dust out of the heatsink, or maybe you need a larger heatsink fan combo.

18 minutes ago, Tbmw said:

Is it a simple case of i'm running a budget cpu and if i want to get away from this problem i need to upgrade or continue to live with the issue

^^^^This

First of all, you want to avoid transcoding locally if possible and direct play your content.  This means the content must be in a format the clients can handle without asking the Plex server to transcode.  Playing remotely or to mobile devices often causes transcoding because of bandwidth and other constraints.

When the Plex server must transcode, the recommendation is for 2000 passmarks per 1080p stream.  unRAID needs about 2000 for overhead operation to keep the system running normally, so, in theory, your CPU should be capable of 4000 passmarks just to transcode one 1080p stream.