We're Hiring! Full Stack Developer ×

Helping with diagnosis of a problem

Hello,

I'm hoping someone might be shine a light on a problem I've had for far too long. I'm new to UnRaid and recently aquired a prebuilt setup which I'm trying to get to work. It's a 24-bay setup but comes up with millions of errors and I can't work out whether it's the drives that are faulty or one of the components - the thing that's especially confusing is that drives keep on going offline and despite there being 18 drives in it only picks up 12. Errors seem to vary each time I restart the machine and there is no consistency which is making me feel like maybe it's the RAID controller rather than the drives. I've reseated all of the drives, checked PCI connections as well as unplugged and replugged all of the cables.

Please find the diagnostic file attached.

Any help would be much appreciated.

tower-diagnostics-20210125-1700.zip

23 minutes ago, JorgeB said:

Unlikely to be a disk problem, could be power, controller, expander, etc, I would first try not using the expander, you won't be able to use all the drives but do it for testing.

Right. Okay, is my understanding correct that the expander is the one with lots of mini SAS connectors and SAS output whereas RAID controller is what's hooked to the expander? And if so, are you suggesting to unplug the expander and connect two mini SAS cables to the controller itself? That way I can connect 8 drives at a time (2x4)?

24 minutes ago, itimpi said:

Many BIOS's get upset if more than 12 drives are potentially bootable.  You may need to go into the disk controller BIOS to disable the drives attached from being considered bootable

In BIOS I can find all of the Hot Plug SATA connections disabled. Not sure if that's what you referred to.

Please find 3x pictures attached which should give a better idea.

Thank you so much for responding to this, you can't imagine how much this means.

20210125_194633.jpg

20210125_194644.jpg