Installed new 10GB NIC - Lost 3 drives - SOLVED (bad power cable)

Go to solution Solved by geekdomo,

I have been running unraid for years with no problems at all. I am a photographer and wanted to transfer all of my photos (20TB or so) to a 5 disk array on my desk. It was obviously taking forever to move from my unraid server so I got a 10GB Nic card for it (my Mac has 10GBe). I shut down safely and then put the card in. Upon boot up I had 3 red drives one being the parity. I tried to troubleshoot it and tried other SAS cards, plugging my parity directly into the motherboard (I have 2 disks that way because my SAS was full). I removed the new Nic and some other troubleshooting techniques. I have tried multiple cables, swapping power plugs everything I can think of to get my basically brand new parity drive back. Not sure what happened to the 3TB Drive. All of the drives are in cages and sleds. 
Parity is a 3 month old drive, the 2nd one is quite old and I have a spare already in the mail. 

I managed through moving cables to get 1 drive back. I am still unable to get my fairly new 8TB parity drive to respond. If I can get it back I can just rebuild the 3TB one.  I am at a loss what to do. I have my entire career on these drives. Any way I can restore this somehow?

Screen-Shot-.jpg

Edited by geekdomo
misspelled unpaid

The disk assigned as disk8 does not appear in diagnostics smart folder so it isn't responding for some reason, possibly just a connection issue. Check connections, both ends, SAS, SATA, power, including splitters.

Since each Unraid data disk is independent, even without disk8 all your other disks should be fine.

Parity, though disabled, does appear to be connected, and its SMART attributes look OK. Are there any SMART warnings on the Dashboard page for any of your disks?