CPU is Unsupported on boot after update

Well, I hit my first ever major Unraid issue today. I was running 6.10.3 RC3? Whatever the last one was before 6.10.3 stable. I've been running now for several months, and always on the next channel with no issues. Today, I updated to 6.10.3 final, got the message that the plugins were all up to date, and clicked reboot. The server never came back online. After hooking up KVM, I saw the CPU is unsupported message during Unraid boot. I tried booting in safe mode, and received the same error.

I'm running a Ryzen Threadripper 1950X on a Gigabyte X399 Arous Gaming 7 motherboard. It's worked flawlessly with Unraid up until this point. I did a forum search and tried disabling C-States to see if it would make a difference and it did not. The hardware was never physically touched before or after the update, so I have no idea why I'm suddenly getting a CPU unsupported error. 

I'm new to troubleshooting, but I really want my server online, so I'm going to try a fresh USB stick, and see if that will let me at least boot? Any other suggestions or any clue in the world why this happened?

I also have been seeing this message about CPU UNSUPPORTED during boot.

Was not really worried about it.

AMD Ryzen 5 1600

ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4
American Megatrends Inc., Version P4.30
BIOS dated: Wed 23 Feb 2022 12:00:00 AM AEST

Latest BIOS and boot does not slow or hang when message displayed, successful boots

Edited by cwalkin
updated info
  • 3 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...

Having this same issue as well.

Now my Server refuses to fully shutdown.

It hangs with a Kernel panic when shutting down/rebooting.

Otherwise works correctly as long I do not shutdown/reboot.

system:

AMD Threadripper 3970X (24 core 48 thread) on an Gigabyte Aorus Pro WIFI TRX40.

Any recommendation?

And no, its not a MCELOG error.

Edited by tamalero
On 8/1/2022 at 5:57 PM, trurl said:

attach diagnostics to your NEXT post in this thread

Here you go.