[SOLVED] Advice for a N00b

Hello to the group.  

UnRAID Newbie here, and well not quite even that far.  Right now I have a media server based on Windows 7, and am very close to making the decision to swap over to UnRAID.  I have spent the past 2-3 days with my spare time reading about UnRAID have corresponded with some users over at AVS Forum about what they are doing.  I have few questions that are just general operation questions that have come up as I’m reading.  I think I know the answer to most, but just want to make sure I'm understanding correctly.

My Current Server:

Windows 7 64 Ultimate

FlexRAID

Antec 1200

Biostar TA790GXE 128M

AMD Athalon II x2 3.0

Intel EXPI9301CTBLK 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek on MB disabled)

4 GB OCZ DDR2 1066

OCZ ModXStream 600W PSU

1 - 250 GB Drive for OS (old 5-6 yrs / noisy, probably will go away)

1 - WD10EALS 1.0 TB 7200 RPM Blue drive (currently holds everything but media (scanned documents, photos, software, etc.. and is backed up to an external hard drive)

1- WD20EARS 2.0 TB 5400 RPM Green drive (currently runs parity for FlexRAID)

2 - Hitachi 7200 RPM 2.0 TB 7220 models don't have the whole model # to fingertips now (media drives)

1 - Hitachi H3IK20003277SP 2 TB 7200 drive (media drive)

All the drives except the 1st one are around a year old +/-.

I will probably put the 1.0 TB Blue drive into the array which it currently isn’t' and still have the data backed up to the external drive.

I am down to a little over 1 TB of space on the 3 media drives so I will probably be adding an additional data drive when I make any changeover.  I probably have a couple hardware related questions about drives, and a controller I now need to add (MB is tapped out), but will wait and do this in the hardware sections of the forum after I do a little more reading here.

So on to my questions: