Disk Storage Configuration Help

Go to solution Solved by meketone,

Hi.  I'm building my first NAS server and I have a question about how I setup my drivers.  I have a SSD as the main drive to be used for caching as I understand it.  I have three HDDs (12, 10, 10).  I will use  the system to back up multiple laptops and store data that will only exist on the NAS server (let's call this Project Data).   I'm not sure how to set this up.  Do I set this up as:

Drive 1 (12): Parity Drive in pool

Drive 2 (10): 2nd pool drive

Drive 3 (10): Project Data

I guess I would back up the Laptops to unraid (Drive 1 and 2) and back up Drive 3 to unraid.

Am I thinking this correctly?

BTW, I'm a novice, obviously, at this.  Maybe I'm not understanding.  If I have a separate drive (Drive 3) that stores Project Data and backup Drive 3 to the unraid pool, essentially Drive 1 & 2, then I would have two copies, one on Drive 3 and one on redundant Drives 1/2? 

Edited by mmkeaton

10 hours ago, mmkeaton said:

BTW, I'm a novice, obviously, at this.  Maybe I'm not understanding.  If I have a separate drive (Drive 3) that stores Project Data and backup Drive 3 to the unraid pool, essentially Drive 1 & 2, then I would have two copies, one on Drive 3 and one on redundant Drives 1/2? 

You're better off writing to the array first (drives 1 & 2)(technically parity and data disk1) and then backing up to project data (disk3).  Disk3 would be outisde the array and therefore unprotected. Doing it the other way would mean new files would be susceptible to data loss until disk3 is backed up to array.  Keep in mind your backup is still in the same physical system.  Consider storing backups off-site also.

A single parity disk provides fault tollerance due to physical disk failure of up to one disk at a time.  From user perspective, this allows the system to operate normally until a replacement disk can be installed and rebuilt.