SABnzbd slow speeds, thinking of moving only NVMe from array to cache. Advice needed, please.

Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

Hi, I'm looking for some advice please.

I'm new to Unraid, and pretty new to Linux as well, being a long-time windows user.

I currently have an Unraid setup, with only 1 NVMe disk in the array, with a Home Assistant VM, and a number of docker containers running on it (Usenet/Arr stack, Plex, Frigate for security cameras, to name a few). I don't currently have any plans to create a large storage array, as I really only want to use Unraid for the simplicity of running docker containers and VMs. I don't really care about storing Movies and TV Shows once I have watched them.

I have noticed an issue with SABnzbd, where my download speed will drop significantly during downloads, and also direct unpacks taking a very long time. I believe this may be because the write speed is limited on disks in the array, however, I am not 100% sure about that, as I don't have a parity drive, and I'm not sure if that is the only contributing factor. This is not happening on my main Windows 11 machine. SAB is saying my download and complete folder speeds are only around 90MB/s, but DiskSpeed docker is showing proper speeds of around 2300MB/s. I have gigabit internet, and downloads will start at around 109MB/s, but drop to around 20MB/s.

I have a second, unassigned, 1TB HDD as well, and I was thinking of moving the NVMe drive to a cache pool (I believe it should perform better then) and putting the HDD on the array. I will then run all of my docker containers and VM on the cache.

So, I am trying to figure out the simplest way of doing that, without losing data, and moving my containers and VM over to the cache. I have tried searching, but I can't really find anything that matches my situation exactly.