New build for Unraid 4.7

luca2

Hi, I am not an expert IT guy, but i am planning setting up a new storage case for my unraid 4.7 only used as media center. Actually I have the following setup: asus e35m1-I deluxe (integrated dual core amd zacate 18w+6 sataIII), 1 adaptec 1430sa (sata only), and  8 HDDs (all 2TB Seagate 3,5" 7200rpm).

I want a new case with up to 20 HDDs, either norco 4220 or x-case rm420.

option 1) mantain my MB and buy the following:

- 1 cheap raid card (LSI Internal SATA/SAS 9211-8i 6Gb/s PCI-Express 2.0)+

- expander (I think Intel SAS expander RES2SV240 would work since I can power it using the 4-pin header instead the pci express)

My MB has only 1 pci express port, I think this option would save me some money (i would re-use my actual hardware).

option 2) buy new: X9SCM-F (4 sata II+2sata III) + core i3 + (2)AOC-SAS2LP-MV8>16 sataIII (I will not need the raid function of a raid card at the moment).

My doubts:

What is the cheapest option?

Option 1): Will the described items work? Or which card+expander could you recommend?

What are the pro´s of having an core i3 running unraid in option 2?

Will option 2 run without issues: I mean the 2 AOC´s together with the x9scm-f?

I think both case options do have a 6gbs backplane, therefore in what situation will I benefit from using SAS2L cards instead of SASL (only 3gbs)? Is it really worth for my unraid build purpose or can I go just with sata 3gbps? Maybe running 1 ssd for caching is the reason for having some 6gps ports?

Rgds.

Hi, I am not an expert IT guy, but i am planning setting up a new storage case for my unraid 4.7 only used as media center. Actually I have the following setup: asus e35m1-I deluxe (integrated dual core amd zacate 18w+6 sataIII), 1 adaptec 1430sa (sata only), and  8 HDDs (all 2TB Seagate 3,5" 7200rpm).

I want a new case with up to 20 HDDs, either norco 4220 or x-case rm420.

option 1) mantain my MB and buy the following: