preclear - did I do it right?

I wrote this same post in a different thread, but I guess it wasn't the right thread for it, so I'm creating a new thread.

I'm very new to unRaid, this is my first setup.  First I had to buy a new motherboard because my Gigabyte board couldn't boot from USB.  Now I've got a new "old" Asus bord from eBay and I was good to go.

I created the boot thumb drive and installed unmenu and the preclear script.  Then I installed 3 disks: two 3TB Western Digital WD30EZRX (one of which is for parity) and one Western Digital 2TB WD20EARS.

I managed to install screen and ran three instances of Preclear.  The 2TB was obviously finished first, but when it was running, I immediately noticed something strange.  With the 2TB drive, the script said: "cycle 1 of 1, partition start on sector 64".  With the 3TB drives, it said : "cycle 1 of 1, partition start on sector 1"

The 2TB drive finished without a problem, after 35 hours.  The 3TB drives gave some sort of notification, something concerning the partition and I had to re-type "Yes" again.  But then it said it could not continue of some sort.  I fear now that instead of at sector 64, these partitions started at sector 1.  I found that strange because I did use the -A switch (preclear_disk.sh -A /dev/sda).

What did I do wrong?  I hope you can help me, because after more than 40 hours of pre-clearing, I really don't feel like redoing it.

Edit: oh, and does it matter that the motherboard uses an older bios which does not support disks larger than 2TB?  I've read in the past that Linux is capable of ignoring the BIOS setting and using it's own, but I'm not sure if it'll work in this case.  If not, then I will probably have to buy a SATA controller.  (the BIOS shows the 3 TB disks as 800 GB or something).

Thanks!

Well, something must have gone wrong, because I've built the array now (3TB parity, 3TB+2TB data) clicked "start" and then clicked "format", and it's been at it for hours again now. :(