Rebuilding Drives and/or Parity??

I'm still extremely new to all of this.  So, let's say a drive craps out on me… I've read a lot about drives being rebuilt when replaced, but what am I rebuilding?  Will it replace all the info on that drive from the info contained, or is it just rebuilding the parity??  I have all of my drives backed up.  My unraid server works great with XBMC for internal and Plex server works great for external and the rest of it is bare metal, the more you add, the more chances of breakage… But, should something go wrong, I don't have the foggiest,  is there a tutorial about unraid that explains the basics in layman's terms.  It's like I built a football, but I don't know how to play the game, is there an instruction manual or up to date wiki about this.  Thanks for all your help so far!!

UnRAID provides fault tolerance for a single drive failure.  Doesn't matter which drive fails -- one of the data drives or the parity drive.    If (when) that happens, the failed drive can be rebuilt by reading ALL of the other drives and reconstructing the data for the failed drive.  So that's what happens when you replace it and it does a rebuild.

But it only works with a single failure -- so when a drive has failed you're "running at risk" ... which means that if any other drive fails you can no longer rebuild the original failed drive or the second one -- thus you lose all the data on both of the failed drives (which is why you still need to have backups of your data).

So ... if a drive fails, the first thing you should do is get a replacement drive; replace the failed drive; and let the system do the rebuild.    In fact, if I had a drive fail, I'd turn off the server until I had the replacement drive, just to minimize the likelihood of some other failure before I had the first one rebuilt.