Do not call me Atom! Low power, 8 cores CPU

talkto_menow

Couple weeks ago I did a rebuild of my unRaid system. I've been running Intel Atom D510 based motherboard for last 5 years and I wanted to upgrade it to something more powerful. My objective was to keep my server quiet and cool. I was not interested in getting i3 or i5 board. I have Fractal Design R2 mini chassis, so motherboard has to be mini-ITX. Also I wanted it to be Supermicro brand as they are specialize in this type of hardware. Some time ago I checked what was available on the market and moved forward, but this time this little gem popped up

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813182855

I did some research regarding this chip. There is very little information available. It's in the Atom family, but calling this Atom should be illegal! Just like Avaton, Rangeley (C2758) has 8 cores and very low TDP (20) which allows for passive cooling. Heat inside the case actually dropped by 1-2 degrees. CPU runs at 2.4 GHz

Here is a list of intel’s Atom processors

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Atom_microprocessors

The difference between this chip and Avaton is that it has some additional set of instructions (security) and Avaton eventually will be discontinued.