Data Loss?

liujason

I've been using unraid plus 4+ years, and this is the first time that I notice this. I'm a bit panicking right now.

Today, when I try to open lightroom to edit some older pictures (pictures from July 2014, and February 2015), almost 1 in 8 raw files (CR2) it opens with corrupted images. I had to resort to the JPG version, and even some JPG versions are corrupted as well. It is weird, that when lightroom indexed the files at the time, they were fine, but today when I try to open them again, small portions of the files become corrupted.  :-[ :-[ (by "corrupted", I mean, some images open with distortion, some with very bright parts, some just simply black.)

I have a 4 disk + 1 parity setup. running latest 6.0 public release. I have been doing monthly parity checks diligently for the last several years. It is always 0 errors. (Last checked on Wed 01 Jul 2015 11:43:52 AM EDT (four days ago), finding 0 errors. )

What is happening here? what can I do to make sure the files are ok?

Thanks!

Jason

What file system (ReiserFS, XFS, BTFS) are you using on the disks which hold the corrupted files?

If ReiserFS, did you ever use 6.0 Beta 7 or Beta 8 ... Those versions of Unraid had a problem in the ReiserFS driver which could corrupt existing files.

Unfortunately this sort of corruption problem is unlikely to be fixable.

Keeping checksums and backups of files are usually the best means of recovering from such problems in the future.

All disks are ReiserFS. It is very likely that I used Beta 7 and 8. I always try to keep using the latest versions. (Turns out the earliest version 6 I used was 14b, see later post in the thread. )

Is there any tools available to detect what files are impacted?

Keeping checksums and backups of files are usually the best means of recovering from such problems in the future.