Server freezes randomly

chindocaine

Hi all,

I've been using unRAID for about a year now, but since a few months ago I have a problem. Sometimes the server didn't respond over network. When I tried to use the local console, there was still the login prompt on screen, but the machine didn't respond to any keyboard input.

Most of the time, this error occurred at night, so I thought it was when the mover kicked in. Maybe there was a problem with the drives (which weren't new).

So this week I replaced the parity and storage drives with brand new ones, as well as the cache drive (I wanted to upgrade to an SSD anyway). For good measure I also replaced the power supply (which was a crappy old one before). To make sure there is no problem with the RAM, I ran Memtest86 for about a day without any errors. I set up unRAID completely from scratch.

This morning i couldn't access the server again. Of course it froze again. No networking, no local console. But this time the screen looked quite interesting (see attached photo). Unfortunately I couldn't get any log files since I wasn't able to log in before rebooting. There were no VMs or Docker containers running.

Does anyone have any idea what could cause this behavior? Could it be a problem with the boot flash drive? That's pretty much the only thing I haven't replaced or thoroughly tested yet (except for mainboard and CPU, which are still relatively new). Let me know if you need any more data.

Thanks in advance!

Michael

unraid.jpg

Since you say memtest passed an extended test, about the only thing it could be is motherboard or cpu. That corrupted screen means the video RAM doesn't contain sensible data any more. Normally when you see something like that, it means bad video RAM, which is system RAM on a board with integrated video.