Stackable cases

Ron

I am thinking of going the stackable route, and have a few ideas, but I have no experience with stackables. I currently have a Lian Li PC http://www.lian-li.com/en/dt-portfolio/pc-q25/ that is almost maxed in hdds. I was thinking of maybe buying another one and stacking it or maybe getting a https://www.pccasegear.com/products/30397/thermaltake-core-x9-e-atx-cube-chassis/  which is a bit larger than I would like. Can any case be made to a stackable? Do you need a 2nd power supply, or do you just run the cables through the top of one case to the top case? Any info on this would be helpful. I would like to have the capability of 12 3.5 hdds for now, and more later.

Edited by Ron

Usually the better units will have its own power supply, and a "external" port for receiving the data cable

Personally I recommend using an enclosure with a SFF-8088/SFF-8644/Inifiniband/FC connector rather than individual SATA connectors.

Avoid anything with just a single or pair of SATA ports, as they use port multipliers which can get very slow during parity checks and rebuilds.

Plus most the SATA controllers with port multiplier support have been known to be buggy depending on actual implementation

I'm using the now out of production 8bay Areca 4036, which paired with the LSI-9206-16e, keeps necessary cables down to 1x SFF-8644

In fact, my current server is only housing the cache drive, everything else is on the enclosure, so an outage /cable failure will drop the entire array at once, reducing potential issues.

1 hour ago, ken-ji said:

Usually the better units will have its own power supply, and a "external" port for receiving the data cable

Personally I recommend using an enclosure with a SFF-8088/SFF-8644/Inifiniband/FC connector rather than individual SATA connectors.

Avoid anything with just a single or pair of SATA ports, as they use port multipliers which can get very slow during parity checks and rebuilds.