Fast cache drive vs fast parity drive?

Hello all,

I'm new to Unraid and just set up a prototype server with 3x500 GB 7200 rpm drives. It seems to work fine and I'm moving to building my "production" environment. My goal is to saturate GbE network, i.e. get to approx 100 MB/s writes and reads. Reads were fine but writes were a bit slow, around 35 MB/s with parity. I'd like to get suggestions on how to architect my Unraid server for performance.

I plan to use "green" drives for storage but I don't know if I should use a 7200 rpm drive for parity or not. Initially I thought I need a fast parity drive. But then I thought if I have a cache drive then overall performance is bound by the speed of the cache drive. Is that assumption correct? When will the cache drive start writing the data to the data drives? I hope it's after the writes from the clients have finished.

Thanks all and I hope to get some good info!

Hello all,

I plan to use "green" drives for storage but I don't know if I should use a 7200 rpm drive for parity or not. Initially I thought I need a fast parity drive. But then I thought if I have a cache drive then overall performance is bound by the speed of the cache drive. Is that assumption correct? When will the cache drive start writing the data to the data drives? I hope it's after the writes from the clients have finished.

Thanks all and I hope to get some good info!

Optimally, the parity drive should be as fast or faster than the fastest data drive. 

You can set the schedule for the cache drive to move it's contents to the array in the middle of the night when noone is using the system if you like.

I think your expectations are unrealistic.  Reads are fine, as you said, but the fastest write to an unRAID server ever documented was just a bit over 70 mb/s (and that was using an SSD).

A fast parity drive will only help you if you write to multiple drives simultaneously.  If you use a cache drive, it won't make any difference at all.