Drive disabled - should I replace it?

moleboy

Hi there,

I'm a bit of a noob with Unraid so forgive me whilst I am learning the ropes.

I have version 6.7.2 installed and I've just noticed whilst downloading some Media that my main (largest 8TB) drive (I only have 3) has been disabled due to write errors.  Whilst performing a preclear of the drive I was warned of errors then but thought it was a dodgy SATA cable.  The errors appear to be back.  I am attaching the diagnostics I got before rebooting.  Could someone take a look and tell me if they think the drive needs replacing?  There are no errors on the parity or the other 2 smaller drives.

I didn't have a SMART report for the disabled drive until I rebooted.  I ran a short SMART test (is that sufficient or should I run an extended?) and it came back error free.  I have attached this too.

Thanks for your time

mothership-diagnostics-20191218-2133.zip mothership-smart-20191218-2217.zip

Hi,

Thanks for your response.  I will open up the case and recheck all connections.  

No I'm not too sure on how to rebuild the disk to itself.  Would this delete all the data off it?  When I try starting the array the drive is still disabled despite me rebooting and running a short Smart Test?

The drive will be disabled until it is rebuilt. Since a write to it failed, it is out of sync with parity. But the data for that failed write is still in the array from the parity calculation. In fact, Unraid will not even use a disk after it has been disabled. All attempts to access the disk, whether reading or writing, is done by emulating the disk from parity. So, the contents of the disk can still be read, but that is accomplished by reading parity PLUS ALL other disks and calculating the data for the disk. And all writes to the disk don't actually write the disabled disk, it just updates parity as if the disk were written.