Gigabyte GA-EP45T-USB3P Motherboard

dschock

I just started using UnRaid today on an old test server and absolutely LOVE it.  I want to move my 6TB movie library to a new server using UnRaid.  I've tried to research the motherboard requirements and found that some Gigabyte MBs have an issue with HPA.  I would like to get the GA-EP45T-USB3P as it has 8 sata ports and is available at microcenter (I'm an impulse buyer :P).  I saw the GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P on the compatibility list but it's no longer available at newegg.  Does anyone know if the GA-EP45T-USB3P is compatible?  What the best approach to check this MB.  I'm a newbie today so take it easy on me if I'm out of line.

Thanks in advance.

dave

I just started using UnRaid today on an old test server and absolutely LOVE it.  I want to move my 6TB movie library to a new server using UnRaid.  I've tried to research the motherboard requirements and found that some Gigabyte MBs have an issue with HPA.  I would like to get the GA-EP45T-USB3P as it has 8 sata ports and is available at microcenter (I'm an impulse buyer :P).  I saw the GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P on the compatibility list but it's no longer available at newegg.   Does anyone know if the GA-EP45T-USB3P is compatible?  What the best approach to check this MB.  I'm a newbie today so take it easy on me if I'm out of line.

Thanks in advance.

dave

A general rule of thumb is to check the chipset (northbridge and southbridge) along with with NIC that is on the motherboard.  If those are on the Hardware Compatibility Page then the board will likely work just fine.

Since the board you mention has 8 SATA port also check the embedded SATA controller for those extra ports.

• 3 months later...

A bit of an old topic. Has anyone else tried using this board?