Read caching

Hey,

I just setup an Unraid server which is mainly going to be used for running VMs. I would like to have fast access to each VM's vdisk. I also have some data which I need fast access to. Of course I would also like to have this data parity protected. How do I do this with Unraid? As I understand adding a cache drive will only improve my write speed (assuming I have the share set to "prefer"). So what I would like to have is a cache pool which is periodically backed up on the array. Does this exist in Unraid? Is there another way of achieving what I want? Note, I know I could add a second cache drive and set it to raid 1 but this seems wasteful since I already have an array which is parity protected.

Best,
Michael

2 hours ago, MichaelBernasconi said:

Of course I would also like to have this data parity protected. How do I do this with Unraid?

I am not an expert in this area but this need for speed with parity protection is exactly why the cache pool was incorporated into Unraid.  Look into those various setup options for the cache pool. 

About backing up the cache drive.  There is a plugin called CA Backup (Part of the CA (Community Applications) package) that might be configurable to do the job. 

There is also a plugin called User Scripts which will periodically run a BASH script that could do the task of backing up the Cache drive. 

You indicate that you are new, so let me suggest that you install the Community Applications plugin if you have not already done so.  You can find more info here:

https://forums.unraid.net/topic/38582-plug-in-community-applications/

I have forgotten what all of the CA apps are installed with the initial install link but it definitely includes the APPS package which is the app store for Unraid.