Array / Drive Issues - Once a month disabled drives

Hi All,

I have been using Unraid for several years now, however I have had random drive errors throughout my whole Unraid usage history and have undergone several hardware changes and can't figure out why they persist - and I don't understand Linux well enough to troubleshoot via command, and the GUI only provides so much detail.

In summary;

• Roughly every 4-6 weeks my server will randomly disable a drive(s) after numerous errors are detected - sometimes up to 3 drives (often including parity).
  • I've performed S.M.A.R.T tests to confirm the drives operability before either a) unassigning and rebuilding the drive from the parity, or b) creating a new array config and rebuilding parity's knowing the data is safe on the array - all depending how many drives randomly get disabled.
  • I sell off old drives and upgrade every 12-18 months - originally starting with 4 x 1tb drives several years ago, now with a variety of 8-12tb drives. None of the drives are the same from the original build.
  • I started with using onboard SATA, upgrading to an 8 port SAS controller mixed with onboard, now using a 16 port controller with some SSD's running from onboard SATA (inc NVME) - each controller has been RocketRaid controllers (Marvell chips)
  • I have undergone 4 motherboard changes, 4 cpu changes, 3 sets of RAM changes (including trying ECC with a XEON cpu, vs unbuffered with an i9 cpu), dedicated vs onboard GPU's and even switched out 3 PSU's in case there was a power delivery issue. 
  • I have implemented UPS's with my new high-efficiency PSU for the cleanest power I can provide.
  • I have upgraded the fans to cool the system better - dropping thermals on drives and devices by 10-15 degrees celcius (it's hot here in Australia).