VM becomes unresponsive while preclear running

Long story - sorry, lots of context required. I've been using Unraid for many years now with a 20 drive 100TB array working as my main file server for backups. The CPU in that machine has no virtualisation support and no capacity for cache drives, so I have not used VMs (or Dockers) on that server.

I've recently built a second Unraid server (glad I bought that dual license back in the day!!) to replace my ageing media server that was running Sage TV / Plex / Sonarr / SABnzbd

I've successfully migrated Plex, Sonarr and SABnzbd to run in dockers - that's working well.

However, due to a lack of driver support for my old Hauppauge TV tuners, I haven't gone the docker path for SageTV but instead have converted my old server to a VM. This also allowed me to continue running my old SageTV v7 setup without any changes. I have the tuners passed through to the VM so they can use the Windows drivers.

So my SageTV vdisk is contained on a dedicated SSD (not part of the cache pool) mounted via Unassigned Devices and uses the VirtIO bus.

I have two HDDs for recorded TV which aren't in the array - both of which are passed through to the VM and are formatted using NTFS. They both use the VirtIO bus.

I'm not sure if this is the best mechanism for passing dedicated drives through - but from what I've read, unless you have a dedicated controller to pass through, then VirtIO is the best choice for dedicated drives?

Anyway - the server has been working well, I've migrated all of my media across and I have three SSDs in a cache pool.

However, in the last few days I've been having difficulty accessing SageTV via any of my clients (HD200 extender / Placeshifter / etc). 

I can start the SageTV UI and navigate the menus. I can even watch live TV without issues. But as soon as I try to watch a recorded show, it just sits there waiting (spinning circle in SageTV).