Correct Way to Rebuild Password Files?

Hi All,

I'm a newbie with Unraid and need some help.  I recently updated to 6.9.1 from 6.8.3.  I wiped the USB Flash drive and installed 6.9.1 on to it. Now I get the error below when I try to login:

Warning: file(/etc/nginx/htpasswd): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /usr/local/emhttp/login.php on line 23

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/emhttp/login.php on line 23

image.png.369b7cbc4aea55343322282ab9e2a8d8.png

The list below are possible fixes I have identified through some research on my own:

1. Reboot the UnRaid server in Safe Mode = Did not fix the problem.

2. The manual says to delete these files:
  • config/passwd
  • config/shadow
  • config/smbpasswd

3. However, a post in the UnRaid forum says to reset password only delete:

• config/shadow
  • config/smbpasswd

What is the correct fix? 

Also, I made a backup of my 6.8.3 UnRaid OS before I wiped the USB Flash Drive.  What files can I copy from the 6.8.3 backup and paste into the 6.9.1 USB to fix this Password problem?  

I hope someone in the community can answer my questions because I am currently locked out of my UnRaid server.  Thank you for your time.

5 hours ago, slipstream said:

BUMP -  Please can somebody in the community help me solve this problem. Thank you.

if you wiped the flash drive and put a fresh 6.9.1 release on it without copying across your old configuration information then it would have reverted to having no password set.

42 minutes ago, itimpi said:

if you wiped the flash drive and put a fresh 6.9.1 release on it without copying across your old configuration information then it would have reverted to having no password set.

Thank you to all for your postings. 

Itimpi, just to confirm. You are saying if I copy across the files listed below from my the old 6.8.3 backup I made over to my new 6.9.1 USB Flash Drive my old ROOT password should come back to life and work as before. Correct?