Unraid disk SMART passed with read errors?

Hi All,

I'm new to Unraid and SMART (although I have setup my Unraid array and generally know about SMART).

I'm testing now and learning about both of these.

I have one disk in the array that's reported 9000+ errors (particularly when setting up the array).

I run an extended self-test and it stops at 10% with "Completed: read failure"

When I look at the SMART report though it suggested the disk "Passed."

How can that be?  Is the disk usable?  Unraid is not reporting failure or need to replace etc.
The SMART report is attached.
Thanks for any suggestions.

Cheers,
Ashley.

ST3000DM001-1ER166_Z501RTHG-20230216-0922.txt

Num  Test_Description    Status                  Remaining  LifeTime(hours)  LBA_of_first_error
# 1  Extended offline    Completed: read failure       90%     18441         886976
# 2  Short offline       Completed: read failure       90%     18441         886976

29 minutes ago, AshleyAitken said:

Is the disk usable?

no

Also, you should be seeing SMART warnings ( 👎 ) on the Dashboard page for that disk. And if you click on the disk to get to its Attributes, these would all be highlighted.

ID# ATTRIBUTE_NAME          FLAGS    VALUE WORST THRESH FAIL RAW_VALUE
  5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   PO--CK   097   097   010    -    3512
187 Reported_Uncorrect      -O--CK   001   001   000    -    147
197 Current_Pending_Sector  -O--C-   001   001   000    -    57720
198 Offline_Uncorrectable   ----C-   001   001   000    -    57720

Do you have Notifications setup to alert you immediately by email or other agent as soon as a problem is detected?

Thank you @trurl for your replies.

TBH, I was overwhelmed by the SMART data and focussed on the "Passed" status.

Is this disk usable? No.

It's working as a part of the Unraid array (AFAIK). I can copy files to and read them from the array, but of course that could be the other drive doing the work?