Parity drive disappeared - need help

Go to solution Solved by itimpi,

Hi everyone,

I apologise in advance, I'm not very technical, but that's the reason I need your help please.

My array has been working fine for many months:

- 1x parity drive (18TB)

- 1x data drive (12TB)

- 1x cache drive

Last week, I added a new clean drive, so another 12TB, so 2x 12TB data drives.

Everything worked fine afterwards for several days.

However, today the following sequence of events happened:

1) Got a notification with a partity error

2) Parity was automatically disabled

3) I rebooted clean, to see if that would fix it

4) Upon reboot, partity drive is gone (not in unassigned either)

Rebooted again and then the parity drive shows up as an UNASSIGNED drive.

So I stop the Array. Try to assign the drive as PARITY, but as soon as I select that drive, it disappears from the selection menu.

It's still showing as UNASSIGNED, saying I need to FORMAT it. So I try that, but formatting fails.

I open up the machine, check all cables. I find a post on the forum saying that I should use MOLEX to SATA adapters for powering the drives, so I change all of the cables to MOLEX and reboot.  Same issue.

I have rebooted this machine multiple times now, played with cables. Always the same:

- the drive shows up as UNASSIGNED

- when I try to assign it as PARITY it won't let me

Have tried to check logs (but I don't really understand them) and done one of those SMART diagnostics, which (amongst other things) said "scsi error medium or hardware error (serious)". Not sure what that means.

I have also run the DIAGNOSTICS, given that's what I've seen people do on this forum.

Both attached. Pls help. 

holyteepot-diagnostics-20240105-2302.zip holyteepot-smart-20240105-2256.zip

• Solution

Looking at that SMART report and the syslog entries it looks likely that the drive really has failed.