HDD to SSD "the disc must be as big or bigger than the original" Error

I've been using unRaid since 2012 and have swapped out countless drives over that time.  My 4TB WD HDD hard drive is on the way out, so I decided to replace it with a new Crucial MX500 SSD, others of which I've had in my array for years.  For some reason I'm getting an error that "the disc must be as big or bigger than the original" even though both are 4TB.

Is there any way to have my unRaid OS work through this?  In all these years and swaps I've never encountered this before.

The problem will be that Unraid uses a different start sector for HDD and SSD (for performance reasons) so the SSD will have a few less sectors available for data than the HDD had.

The only easy way around this that I can think off is to use the New Config tool to get the SSD into the array, rebuild parity, format the SSD, and then mount the old HDD drive via Unassigned Devices to copy its data back to the array.  This would not be ideal as if the HDD failed during this process (and you do not have a backup of its contents) you could end up with data loss.

Yikes, that sounds scary...so I'm not missing anything, is it:

1. Shut down array.
  2. Remove HDD, add SSD, reboot array.
  3. Add SSD to array via New Config tool.
  4. Rebuild Parity - I'm not technical so forgive me, but why wouldn't parity write to the new SSD at this time?  I think this is the part of how parity works that confuses me the most; can't the array see the SSD as a new drive replacing a dead drive and use parity plus the other drives to rebuild?  Or is this where the start sector issue becomes the issue?
  5. Format the SSD - I assume in the dashboard?
  6.  Mount HDD to the array via Unassigned Devices - though if I'm already at my max SATAs I'm blocked here...
  7. Copy data back, meaning, rebuild the array again?
  8.  Shut down, remove HDD, reboot?

52 minutes ago, tomorrowsman said: