Media player?

ysu

Gents I need help - I'm looking for a plugin with clear install information to use.  I've never used a plugin before, so please be gentle.

I've the unRaid v6.1.6 paid version, and looking to organise things so I can watch stuff on the telly.  I've googled around, but all I found is dead links and outdated instructions & information.

I've a ps3 I can use to play the video - the aging Panasonic Viera I got is probably not able to handle anything in any way.

But I still have the problem; I can't find a working media player plugin for v6.  Please help!

Thanks!

Isn't plex for PlayStation a good option?

https://plex.tv/playstation

Installing a plex media server docker on your unraid is easy.

While Plex will do the job the OP requires it is feature rich and very heavy weight if he / she just wants to stream media to the ps3. Plus no need for all the other stuff to go through with Plex re configuration.

Now - I am making some assumptions with this advice. You don't need to transcode (in that all your media is in a format the ps3 can natively read) AND you have no other requirements but streaming straight to the ps3. If there are any other requirements then a heavier application like Plex might end up being the order of the day. But we can only address what is in front of us so ....

The ps3's media client uses DLNA protocol:

http://manuals.playstation.net/document/en/ps3/current/settings/connectdlna.html

So all that is required is a light weight DLNA media server to serve the DLNA client.

http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=45841.0

Note. This is a Docker and NOT a plugin. IMHO the preferred method on unRAID v6+ is to use Docker for hosting applications. Using docker doesn't tie the application to the unRAID "ecosystem" and is less likely to "break" on release of a new unRAID version. Less support, less hassle and also easy to fix (just re install the docker) if things get messed up.