External Access Guidelines

TexasDave

One of the things I love about unRAID is the fact it forces me (in a good way) to learn new things. I have been running it for a few years and really enjoy it. 

I have opened up my Plex server to several friends and they love it. And as far as I can see, this is "secure". 

I now want to access both my apps (like Sonarr, CP, Mylar, ...) outside my LAN. I do not have to do this but want the capability and want to learn how. 

Ideally, I would also like to be able to manage my unRAID system outside my LAN. Again, I do not have to but want to learn. 

In reading posts, it seems most people do the following:

• Setup the OpenVPN-AS server if they want to access the unRAID console.
  • Then they setup "reverse proxy" to access their apps. Looks like Apache or Nginx are prime candidates?
  • For the reverse proxy, people then seem to leverage "Lets Encrypt"?
  • Looks like many folks also leverage a DDNS (I have DuckDNS installed and working well). I use it for ombi 

Is that generally correct? Why do folks not use the VPN for the apps as well? Is it the fact that you need a VPN client to access your apps? 

I am also wondering why folks do not use VPN features in their router? Again, is this because you would need a VPN client?

I am just trying to get a handle on the various ways I could: 

• Continue to provide easy access to my Plex Server to friends
  • Access my dockers (Sonarr, CP, Mylar, ...) outside my LAN
  • Access my unRAID console outside my LAN
  • Take some of the grunt work out of the above using things like DuckDNS and Lets Encrypt

Any high level guidelines would be appreciated. I just want to understand the various pieces before i jump in.

I think I (mostly) understand what I need to do.....but am happy to be corrected and educated!

Thanks!

Hey Dave, 

You're spot on with all your conclusions.