Starting a new unRAID server off with a single 2TB drive, bad idea?

3560freak

I have finally compiled all of my components together for my build, however I am wondering if starting off with just one WD20EADS is a bad idea.  If I do this will I be required to add just 2TB size HDD or larger in order to keep data on the original WD20EADS?  From what I can gather using the Wiki it looks like the largest drive is always considered the parity drive.  I am just starting out with the free version of unRAID to see if it fits my needs, which is basically hosting media to 2 PCs and 1 WD TV Live Media box.  I was looking at the WD20EADS because it is the best bang for the buck (approx $140) vs 2 * WD10EARS (approx $160 total).  Thank you for the help

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am wondering if starting off with just one WD20EADS is a bad idea.  

If I do this will I be required to add just 2TB size HDD or larger in order to keep data on the original WD20EADS?

It's not bad or good, it's up to you.  You can start with only one data disk just fine.

Later, when you decide that you want to add a parity disk, it will have to be at least that big.

Why not buy a few disks? Do you have a free, Plus or Pro licence? If you have a free licence, you can have only two data disks and one parity, Plus has five data and one parity, or Pro nineteen data and one parity (or minus a data disk and have one cache disk).

Their are a lot of deals now on disks, I'm seeing some good deals for Western Digital and Seagates (1TB to 1.5TBs) going about $10 to $20 cheaper now. Depending on your region/location, (well I'm in Australia), at the moment it would be way cheaper if you bought a 2TB disk to use as a parity drive and two 1TB disks and use them as data, but again, it depends on your location and prices vary from country to country.