unRAID mITX Media Server Build - Sanity Check?

riccume

I'm new to building unRAID servers and after a decent amount of studying on this fantastic forum I've come up with the following configuration. Any thoughts? I'm looking for a simple media server (the main goal is ripping my 800+ DVD collection; additionally I'll use it for daily incremental back-ups of my PC) which is compact and looks OK (it will be sitting in a corner of the living room). Something like the Acer Aspire easyStore H340, but using unRAID.

Liam Li PC-Q8

Intel D510MO

4 port PCI-internal SATA adapter (the Intel mobo comes with only two SATA I/Os; mITX mobos with more I/Os seem to be much more expensive)

2GB RAM

Antec 380W EarthWatts Green

Thoughts?? Thank you!

How many hdd's are you planning on having?  If more than 3 then the 4 port PCI adapter will choke the drives attached to it if more than one is active at a time.  You would be better off with a mobo with a PCIe slot.  If you pick a mobo with 4 sata ports then a 2port PCI adapter would be less of a potential problem because less opportunity for the two drives on it to be active at the same time than on a 4 port. 

That psu can handle 7 or 8 drives.  So it's good for the case you chose.  

Thank you queeg, I wasn't aware of this limitation. I'm planning to use up to 5 HDDs. Any suggestions on a mITX board with more SATA I/Os? On dabs.com (I'm based in the UK) I found the Zotac Intel Atom D510 DDR2 DTX, which has 6 SATA + 1 eSATA - any opinion? Thanks!

The Zotac is a pretty nice board. Should work fine if it fits in that case correctly.

As for PCI vs PCIe.  For a small system, the PCI bottleneck isn't that much of an issue.

If you go that route, choose a card and board capable of PCI 2.3 with a 66Mhz bus. (it might be difficult getting one to meet those specs).

I have an MSI board from logic supply and using a Promise TX4 on the PCI bus proves to be satisfactory.