We're Hiring! Full Stack Developer ×

Swapping Motherboards and SATA cards

ARAMP1

I'm currently running version 6.3.5 with 10 disks and a couple more that I want to add.  This is my first time working with UnRAID and so far, it's been a good experience.  

I had a cheap Realtec SATA card (SYBA SI-PEX40071)  on hand and used it for the build.  The recommended hardware page says it works right out of the box but the PCIex2 is a bottleneck.  And, I noticed something was odd when I swapped hard drives around (to keep the disk numbers in a more orderly arrangement) that when I swapped a hard drive from the onboard SATA port to the PCIe card SATA port, it would say the hard drive was missing (though I could see it on the main identification drop down).  Anyway, I swapped everything back and it works fine.  

Now, I want to upgrade the motherboard and use a recommended LSI card.  What kind of trouble will I have swapping everything over?

6 hours ago, ARAMP1 said:

that when I swapped a hard drive from the onboard SATA port to the PCIe card SATA port, it would say the hard drive was missing

That shound'h happen, likely one of your controllers was identifying the drives with some little difference, we'd need the diagnostics to confirm.

6 hours ago, ARAMP1 said:

Now, I want to upgrade the motherboard and use a recommended LSI card.  What kind of trouble will I have swapping everything over?

Usually you just replace the controller and boot, there's nothing more to it.

Drives attached to disk controllers follow a certain naming convention consisting of model and serial number that is unique (or should be) for every drive.

For example ...

HGST_HDN728080ALE604_VLKKxxxx