Help With Backing Up Server (6.5.3)

warmarshall2nd

Good Evening, All:

Before I begin, I want to thank you for your patience...

I joined the unRaid community a couple months ago and have been slowly setting up my first NAS/media server/data repository.  A bit of background.  I have NO experience with coding or using linux, so there is a lot of stuff on the forums that is Greek to me...but once I get past that barrier, I am usually golden.

I currently manually back all my critical data from my server up manually every week to a large hotswappable hard drive connected to my main system (running Windows 10).

What I want to do is set up an automatic back up of this data.  For the time being, I am willing to just have it back up to an external every so often, but I want to set up a second server in my home as a back-up server that would only be on occasionally to receive updates from the main repository.  I have found other people that do this in the forums, but as I said, I do not have a clue what I am looking at when I see the listed code.

Would anyone be able to explain to me, as an unRaid dummy, or direct me to the information I need to sift through to understand how to accomplish this?

Again, I am most grateful for any assistance you all may be able to provide, as well as your patience.  If I need to provide any more information, let me know!

I went through something like this when I first set mine up. I wanted a system to auto back up folders that I pick and back them up at a location I choose and I wanted it to keep 1 week of changes before over writing the oldest one. The way I found to so this was running a windows vm and using Acronis Backup software. Works perfectrly. I could not find docker software or anything to back up with 

From Wikipedia-