WOL using Linksys WRT310N

grimm2000

Most modern routers should support this. I would suspect it is your method for waking the server.

For a linux client you can install "wakeonlan" and then run in a terminal with the MAC address of the server as the argument.

For windows I think there is a "wol.exe" (not too sure but I know it exists)

Do you see activity on the router when the command is run?

Are you sure the server is in an S3 suspended state?

What MB are you using?

I initially tried it on my Unraid server, but it was not working.  So I thought it is probably my configuration so since I am a newb to linux, I tried it on my Windows 7 system and same issue.   I could not wake up my system, so I starting Googling like I usually do and I came across alot of posts stating the my router does not support WOL.  So I just wanted to confirm this with the community to see if anyone else with this router is using WOL.  I just got fed up with spinning my wheels on this issue since I spent a few days getting it to work.

Are you sure the server is in an S3 suspended state?

I know I put the system in S3 suspend state when I tested it. Over and over and over.....

I also double checked my bios setting to make sure WOL was activated..

I created shortcut via the command below:

rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState 0,1,0

What MB are you using?

GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H

Do you see activity on the router when the command is run?

No I did not..

First rule of home routers... always check and only buy one that you can load third party (i.e. Tomato) firmware on.

* Linksys WRT54G v1-v4, WRT54GS v1-v4, WRT54GL v1.x, WRTSL54GS (no USB support)

* Buffalo WHR-G54S, WHR-HP-G54, WZR-G54, WBR2-G54

* Asus WL500G Premium (no USB support)

* Untested but apparently works without changes: SparkLAN WX-6615GT

http://www.polarcloud.com/tomatofaq#what_will_this_run_on