Raid Controllers

sigmanp226

Hi, I'm new to unraid and never heard of it until today while shopping for a server. Reading through the documents I have yet to find an answer. Since the server I am looking at purchasing has 32 drive capacity:

1) will I need to buy a set of matching raid controllers

2) will I need to JBOD my array on these cards

3) suggestions for cards I should use

Thank you all your help is greatly appreciated

Hi, I'm new to unraid and never heard of it until today while shopping for a server. Reading through the documents I have yet to find an answer. Since the server I am looking at purchasing has 32 drive capacity:

unRAID does no, as of yet, support 32 drives in one machine.  That number will probably not be supported for some time either.

1) will I need to buy a set of matching raid controllers

RAID controllers are mostly useless in unRAID.  The best card for the money right now is the Supermicro SASLP SATA card

2) will I need to JBOD my array on these cards

unRAID creates a file system on each disk and then uses the parity disk to protect all of them.  It is essentially a JBOD with parity.

3) suggestions for cards I should use

The Supermicro SASLP SATA card is the best for the money right now.  It allows 8 SATA drives in an x4 PCIe slot.

unRAID does not use Hardware RAID controllers at all.  In fact, it is recommended that you avoid them not only to save money but to ensure compatibility.  The most commonly used SATA expansion card at the moment is the 8 port Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8.  This card also requires appropriate SAS-SATA breakout cables (the cables you choose will vary depending on what type of server you want to build).  Note that this card has no Hardware RAID capabilities, it simply offers more SATA ports.

The current max on an unRAID server is 22 drives (1 parity, 20 data, 1 cache).  If all 2 TB drives are used, this will net you 40 TBs of usable space.