newb questions

Ok, Im a newb so bear with me. I worked in the DOS days, but new to linux so these may sound really dumb.

1, the go script is essentially a task list that runs commands on boot, right? can I just copy the go file, update it on my windows machine as a txt file, and copy it back or does it have special formatting?

2, what is the difference between a user share or a disk share? if the system is just one big drive, why do disk1 and disk2 show up when I browse across the network? I created a user share called video and just started putting all my data there.. why do I need disk1 and disk2 to show up? is that to manually copy items from a physical disk? FYI I answered this one for anyone else who may have had the same question... under SHARES - EXPORT SETTINGS change DISK SHARES SMB to DONT EXPORT.

3. Does the powerdown script stop the array and shutdown? Im trying to bind the server to the power button so that a push turns it on (obvious) and then the power button runs the power script. That way i can just hit the case power when Im done using the server and it will shut down safely. Will adding this line to the go script do it )mobo supporting of course)?  sysctl -w kernel.poweroff_cmd="/sbin/powerdown"

Also see #1 to answer this one...

4. What is the syntax to make a user share a Export NFS share... ie what goes in that box to enable NFS?

5. Si I have my unraid behind a firewall on my network. however, someone can go to the webpage from WITHIN my network and make adjustments... anyway to prevent this? Reason i ask is that at my house, I can control access to my network (as much as anyone can) but it I were to use a server like this in a more small business netowrk, I would have less control and the last thing I would want is someone screwing with the settings and KILLING all of my data... any ideas?

6.Whats the best way to measure copy performance?