Wiring question for UnRAID network

I'm having the house wired for ethernet and the quote I got was using Cat5e cable. Will there be any performance deficit for streaming VS. Cat6? Are there other reasons to make the switch? I'm very new at all this networking stuff and appreciate all opinions.

If you are wiring a the house I would highly suggest going with CAT6 if possible

The cost difference between Cat5e and Cat6 is not very much.  The lowest cost Cat5e from monoprice is about $80 before shipping.  Cat6 from monoprice runs about $110 before shipping.

For $30 worth of cable I would go with Cat6.  If the installer wants to charge you an exorbitant amount for Cat6 over the Cat5e, then tell him you want the specs of the cable he buys and you will purchase it for him.

Cat5e is rated for gigabit speeds so upgrading to cat6 really won't matter much unless you plan on going faster than gigabit speed.  However when I wired my house I went with cat6 becuase it wasn't that much more expensive for the cable & jacks and I wanted to be somewhat futureproof.  IIRC cat6 can handle 10Gbps for runs of ~35m. Which effectively means that my home wiring can handle 10Gbps.  Is that added capability worth the extra cost?  Well that's for you to decide.  In my case it was only ~$50 more in material, so I opted for the cat6 cable.

Agreed. The distances in a normal house don't really push either type very hard.

Also, best to pull at least two runs per outlet. It doesn't really add to the effort of one and opens up options for the future.

New construction?

Make sure whoever is actually pulling the cable knows what they're doing. No kinks, stay away from lights, motors, and as far as possible from power, crossing at rt angles only if needed. If helps if they work with whoever is doing the power so they plan to leave each other space.