UDMA CRC Error count increasing

breadman

Howdy y'all, first I'd like to preface that I'm a noob when it comes to servers and such. Recently I built my first unraid build and just recently started to notice this error (udma crc error count: increasing number).

After digging around people had suggested the sata connectors or PSU, which I checked and reseated the connections and moved them. The one major call out I see is that my disk 1 and disk 1 have 2 different usages on the screenshot below. I'm assuming I need to either rysync the array somehow or rebuild my array. 

UDMA CRC error count 12.PNG

2 hours ago, breadman said:

I'm assuming I need to either rysync the array somehow or rebuild my array. 

NO!  CRC errors are always corrected.  Their main effect is that they can slow down data transfer because of the time required to re-transmit the data until it is received correctly (as verified by the calculated CRC matching the received CRC).   If you will post up your diagnostics file, we will have a look at it.  In general, you can ignore CRC errors after the fact.  (I currently have one drive with 1823 CRC errors that I first found in August of this year.   Reseated the connectors.   There has been no increase since then, so I consider that the problem is resolved.)  You can not reset the count!  If I remember correctly, on the Dashboard page, if you click on the error for that disk ('SMART' column), you can set it to ignore the error.  You will not see it again unless the count increases. 

17 minutes ago, breadman said:

@Frank1940

I ended up reseating the sata connectors but sadly its still increasing the count. I am using an M.2 to 5 adapter on my ITX motherboard. The onboard sata connectors are all dead on the motherboard so a quick fix was buying the adapter, not sure if that would also alert the CRC notification