2.5gbe TP-Link TX201 NICs only providing 670Mbs bandwidth

kkhan

I am a newbie to UNRAID; in the process of moving my 60TB data pool from flexRAID to UNRAID and would appreciate any help on the below problem.

The UNRAID server is built and configured and ready for transferring the data from my backup data pool on a Windows machine.  To speed things up I purchased a couple of TP-Link TX201 NICs (based on the Realtek RT8125 chipset) and created a peer-to-peer connection.  Everything appeared to work out of the box. UNRAID recognised the cards instantly. Windows did the same. In UNRAID made sure the 2.5Gb/s NIC was not bonded to the existing 2x1Gb/s NICs.

Then the trouble started.  During testing I noticed transfer speed across the new 2.5gb/s connection were 20% or so worse than for the existing 1gb/s connection.  Did some trouble shooting:

• Running ethtool on UNRAID confirmed that the link was at 2.5gbps
  • Likewise using the Get-NetAdapter command in Windows I was also able to confirm that the link was at 2.5gb/s but to make sure I turned auto-negotiation off and forced it to 2.5gb/s.
  • Ran iperf3 (10 parallel streams) and I was only able to get 670mb/s effective bandwidth on the 2.5gb/s link.
  • Running iperf3 on the existing 1gb/s connection gave 954mb/s!!!

Any help would be appreciated.  Are these cards not compatible? Are there newer drivers? Bug in UNRAID? Have I missed something?

Usually this problems can be seen if "flow control" is turned off on either side.

You need to know that 2,5 (and 5) speed does not really exist, its just "10 with pauses". This is done not to overload old cables that cannot honor the full speed. Some marketing guy came up with the "2,5 speed" and now it is hitting the mass market, making things worse and worse.