LAST CALL on the Unraid Summer Sale! 😎 ⌛ ×

How can one securely autostart an encrypted unRAID array

Hey people, 

I am a newbie, setting up the UNRAID from scratch. I wanted to encrypt the Arrays for an extra level of security. Now I saw some video for an older version of Unraid to use a FTP Server to get the keyfile and automatically start the array. 

I am referring to this one:

I tried that, found out it didn't work, did some research and seems that with the latest version of UNRAID this way does not work anymore, due to some changes. I saw several posts with people wondering what to do. Now my question is, if someone has a manual how to do it? FTP Server is running.

In the manual to UNRAID I saw that it is not necessarily recommended to use an encryption. Why ist that? 

I would appreciate any help, thanks in advance!

Edited by Milvus
57 minutes ago, Milvus said:

In the manual to UNRAID I saw that it is not necessarily recommended to use an encryption. Why ist that?

The problem with using encryption is that if you end up with file system level corruption then encryption can compromise recovery processes so it then becomes critical that you have a good (and tested) backup strategy in place.

On 4/18/2024 at 10:00 PM, itimpi said:

The problem with using encryption is that if you end up with file system level corruption then encryption can compromise recovery processes so it then becomes critical that you have a good (and tested) backup strategy in place.

thank you for your reply! but what exactly does it mean? Also read that in the manual, but don't really get it. Is there a further / deeper explanation possible or a source where to learn more about it? So it is not adviced to do that extra level of security? Sorry for all these questions, but I would really like to set the Unraid up and also migrate the whole ioBroker onto it.

Thank you in advance!

24 minutes ago, Milvus said:

what exactly does it mean?