Advice for Motherboard - Asus Z97 vs ASRock C226WS+

Hi everyone,

I'm a noob to servers and building computers. I've done serious homework in the last week but I still need the help of experienced unRAIDers to choose a motherboard. My #1 priority when building my unRAID server is future-proofing. My short-term use will be Plex, but I want the option to do all the other fancy stuff like virtualization, etc.

CPU Choice: Intel Xeon E3-1241 v3 @ 3.50GHz because it has a high value for a Xeon chip > 10,000 Passmark

Case: Norco RPC-4224 because I can expand to 24 drives in the future.

Motherboard: I don't know what makes the ASRock C226WS+ a "server" motherboard and why the Asus Z97 is not considered a "server" motherboard (based on NewEgg). On paper, the Asus Z97 seems to be the winner (because of the additional 3 PCI slots and the 2 SATA express ports) and is only $10 more expensive than the ASRock. ASRock wins because it has native capacity for 4 additional SATA drives than the Asus Z97. The SATA express ports seem appealing to me because I'd be able to hook them up to SSDs, since SSDs will eventually be limited to the speeds of SATA3.

Asus Z97 ($279.99)

-4 PCI 3.0 (x8/x8/x8/x8)

-3 PCI 2.0 (x4/x1/x1)

-4 SATA 3

-2 SATAe

-M.2 Socket 3

ASRock C226WS+ ($269.99)

-4 PCI 3.0 (x8/x8/x8/x8)

-6 SATA 3

-4 SATA 3 (through Marvell SE9230)

If any of my logic is off-mark, please kindly educate me. Thank you for your help folks.

The Asus Z97 is a desktop motherboard because it has features like overclocking, and does not support ECC memory.

ASRock C226WS+ is a server board because it supported Xeon processors and ECC.