I moved and my router was replaced and now I can't see my tower/movies

Michael St.Pierre

Houston we have a problem...

I moved from MA to CT recently.  In MA, the cable company issued me a wired router, but in CT they replaced it with a wireless router.

When my uncle helped set up the system, we assigned a static IP address to the tower as the IP address of the old wired router.  That IP address was 192.168.1.99.  The new router has an IP address of 10.0.0.1.  How can I reset my tower to the new router IP address?  I am a novice user so if the response can be as dumbed down as necessary, it would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you very much. 

The easiest way would be to power down the server and remove the flash drive.  Place the flash drive in another computer.  In the config folder should be a file called network.cfg.  Open the file and edit it, correcting the wrong bits.  The only things you should have to change are IPADDR, GATEWAY, and DNS_SERVER1.

IPADDR is the address you want the server to use.

Both GATEWAY and DNS_SERVER1 should be your routers address 10.0.0.1

Make sure to use a Linux compliant text editor like Notepad++

Thank you very much D.S.  (I have a hard time calling someone who is offering their expertise dirty...  :)  I greatly appreciate your help.

I was able to get into the tower and find the flash drive as well as open up the network.cfg file.  I changed the Gateway and DNS_Server1 to the router IP address as you indicated.  I located the other file, but I had another question (sorry).  Is there a specific IP address needed for the IPADDR (i.e. computer)? 

Thanks again!

Thank you very much D.S.  (I have a hard time calling someone who is offering their expertise dirty...  :)  I greatly appreciate your help.