What controller / expander differences?

Sorry I'm a newb even though I've been using unRaid several years.  I'm transfering my server from a stormtroooer CM case to a Norco 4224.  Currently all 5 drives are connected to the motherboard but since I only have 6 onboard SATA connectors I'm going to need a controller or 2 for the other 5 backplanes.  I see controllers and I see expanders.  What is the best performing most cost effective option for me?  Can unRaid use just expander cards or do they have to be hooked to a controller?

I have 2 pci slots, 2 pci-e x1 slots, and 2 pci-e x16 slots.  Obviously I would rather leave a x16 slot open in case I ever want to run a video card in the future.  Also, all my drives are equal to or greater than 3 TB

Help a newb out.  What should I buy.  Thanks guys

First, a controller provides actual SATA ports.    A port expander allows you to use one SATA port to connect multiple drives.    Note that this means the bandwidth of that single SATA port is being split among all of the attached drives -- so the performance will be degraded for any operation that uses multiple drives on the same expander port (e.g. parity sync/checks and drive rebuilds).

Second, you don't want to use PCI controllers, due to the PCI bus bandwidth restrictions, so you're limited to the PCIe slots.  If you want to preserve an x16 slot for a video card, that means you can use one x16 slot and the two x1 slots.

The best approach that won't restrict your bandwidth would be to buy a 16-port card for the x16 slot, and a 2-port card for an x1 slot ... this would give you a total of 24 ports (matching the case's capabilities).    A second 2-port card would give you a couple extra ports if you want a port for pre-clearing and perhaps an internal SSD.    You could also use 4-port cards on the x1 slots, but that would be bandwidth limited if you used all 4 drives at once.