Extreme Budget Setup -- Advice Requested

Narthur

Hello!

I'm working on planning my first unRAID setup. Since I'm an academy student, this will be an extreme budget starter setup. I won't be buying for the paid version of unRAID so I will be limited to three drives (which I already have). I'm not all that knowledgeable when it comes to hardware, so any advice you all could give me would be great. I'm using Kapperz' budget setup as a kind of guide to my own.

CASE: Linkworld 313-06-C2228 Black/ Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - $20.99

Motherboard: ECS A780GM-A Ultra AM2+/AM3 AMD 780G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail - $74.99 ($53.99 with mail-in rebate)

PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Retail - $49.99 ($39.99 with mail-in rebate)

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 LE-1640 Lima 2.7GHz Socket AM2 45W Single-Core Processor - Retail - $39.00

RAM: G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model F2-6400PHU1-1GBNR - Retail - $24.99

Total: ~$210 (~$180 with mail-in rebate)

I already own the hard drives: Two 1TB drives and one 232gb drive. ATM they are all in external cases. I know one is 3.5", and all the cases are roughly the same size, so I'm assuming they are all 3.5" drives inside.

Again, any suggestions would be appreciated!

Your motherboard supports 6 SATA drives already, so you don't need the 3 SATA controllers (which would support an additional 6 drives, 12 total).  Your case has 5 internal 3.5" bays and 2 external, plus 4 external 5 1/4" bays.  All you need are the internal bays, install one drive in the top slot, one in the bottom, and one in the middle for good separation.